Which Of The Following Is Included In The Nuremberg Code

Which Of The Following Is Included In The Nuremberg Code


The Nuremberg Code (German: N├╝rnberger Kodex) is a set of ethical research principles for human experimentation that were created by the court in U.S. v Brandt, which is commonly referred to as the Nuremberg Trials. The Nuremberg Code consists of ten points which delimit permissible medical experimentation on human subjects.

The following points are included in the Nuremberg Code:

  • Voluntary consent should be obtained from all individuals participating in the research.
  • The experiment should be designed to yield results that will benefit the general population, as well as the individuals involved in the experiment.
  • The experiment should be conducted in an environment where safety is ensured.
  • The researchers should take into consideration previous knowledge and experience, as well as the potential risks associated with the experiment.
  • The risks associated with the experiment should be weighed against the potential benefits of the experiment.
  • The experiment should be conducted only by qualified individuals.
  • Experimental subjects should be chosen carefully, taking into consideration age, health, and psychological condition.
  • The experiment should be approved by an independent committee.
  • The experiment should be subject to periodic review.
  • The experiment should be ended if the risks outweigh the potential benefits.

The Nuremberg Code was created in order to protect the rights of human subjects in medical experiments, and is still used today as a set of ethical guidelines for conducting clinical research. It is important to note that the Nuremberg Code is not legally binding, but rather serves as a set of moral standards for researchers to follow.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *