Which Of The Following Groups Is Eligible To Receive Casualty Assistance

Which Of The Following Groups Is Eligible To Receive Casualty Assistance



Casualty assistance is meant to provide support to the survivors of a service member who has passed away or retired from active duty in the U.S. Air Force or Space Force. The assistance may be provided to widows and widowers, and beneficiaries, depending on the conditions of the service member’s death.

Who is Eligible for Assistance?

Those eligible to receive casualty assistance include the surviving family members of an active-duty service member. The assistance received may help the family cope with the loss, rebuild their lives, and find their new identity without the service member.

Benefits and Services

Among the services and benefits that may be available to survivors are:

  • Survivor Benefit Plan
  • Death Gratuity Payments
  • Health Care Benefits
  • Educational Benefits
  • Transportation Benefits
  • Financial Assistance
  • Death-Related Expenses
  • Burial/Memorial Benefits
  • Survivor Outreach Services

Contact for Assistance

In order to receive assistance through casualty operations, contact the Air Force Personnel Center at www.afpc.af.mil. The website also provides a Survivor’s Guide to Benefits, which answers questions and provides resources for those affected by the death of a service member. Military OneSource also provides assistance through their Casualty Assistance Overview.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *